• Home
  • News
  • Iwoama Development Forum Gets Set To Honour Wife Of The President

Iwoama Development Forum Gets Set To Honour Wife Of The President

The city of Port Harcourt will soon enjoy the famed hospitality of the people of Okrika very soon, as the Iwoama Development Forum, IDF, in conjunction with the Wakirike Local Government Area, WALGA, will soon confer a chieftaincy title on the First Lady of Nigeria, Dame Patience Jonathan.
A lover of her hometown, who is married to the President of the nation, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, the entire Iwoama Communities in Okrika, under the aegis of Iwoama Development Forum, have decided to appreciate her love for her hometown by conferring her with a chieftaincy title, a rare honour for a woman in Okrika.
The ceremony will be presided over by the Amanyanabo of Ogoloma, HRM. King E. T. I. Obudibo, Ikwo the 5th.
The programme is fully supported by the Okrika Divisional Council of Chiefs.
The event would be held at the Hotel Presidential. Some of the lectures billed for the day include, “Wakirike in the New Millennium,” to be taken by Barrister Tamuno Williams, Chairman, WALGA and “Waterfronts Demolition: Need for Dialogue,” by Professor Mrs. Okujagu.
The Speaker at the Symposium that would be held on the first day is Professor Atuboyedia Obianime, INC Chairman, while the second day would witness the awards to deserving sons and daughters of Iwoama descendants who have distinguished themselves in their various fields of endeavour and have impacted positively on the lives of Nigerians, especially in the rural areas.
Community Development Award, CDA, would be conferred on the Senate President, Senator David Mark, Governor Chibuike Amaechi, Governor of Rivers State, the Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Governor of Imo State, Governor of Bayelsa State and the Governor of Cross River State, the Governor of Imo State, Chief Dr. D.S.P. Alamieseigha, Rt. Hon. Otelemaba Amachree, Speaker, RSHA, Chief Lulu Briggs, Hon. G.U. Ake, Prince Uche Secondus, Hon Adolphus Peterside and Prof. Joseph Ajienka
Those to be given Award of Excellence include, Chief Ada Rufus George, Hon. Ibim Semenitary, Hon. Barrister Nemi Lawrence, Hon. Promise Abibo, Hon. Linda Somiari, Hon. Abiye Amakiri, Engr. Enoch George, Hon. Gilbert Fiberesima, Hon. Dr. George Ogan, Princess Henrieta Ogan, Rear Adm. O. P. Fingesi, His Exc. Ben Kalio, Mr. Gabriel George, Mr. Julius George, Chief Dr. Aprioku, Justice Sika Aprioku, Chief Ada Williams, Engr. John Bipialaka, Dr. D. P. S Abam and Hon. Granville Abibo.
The organizers of the programme said there would be cultural displays and boat regatta. The famous Iria Ceremony, Oki Masquerade and Owoko dance will also be featured.

Related posts

Exclusion From Training/employment List: Bonny Youths Heads For Showdown With NLNG




Jail All Those Indicted In The Fuel Subsidy Probe, Sanusi Urges