• Home
  • Sports
  • CAF seeds Nigeria for 2015 AFCON qualifiers

CAF seeds Nigeria for 2015 AFCON qualifiers

KESHI STEPHEN COACHThe reigning African champions will be among the six countries to head their group in the race for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations billed for Morocco
Nigeria has been seeded by the Confederation of African Football for the Morocco 2015 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.
This was determined by points system from previous Afcon tournaments including the 2013 edition staged in South Africa plus team’s performance during the qualifiers for the 2014 Fifa World Cup.
Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Mali and Zambia are other countries seeded for the qualifying series. Also, the Super Eagles will know their foes when the football ruling body conducts the draw on April 27, 2013 in Cairo, Egypt.
The 2015 edition billed for Morocco will be staged in four cities and will commence on January 15 and end on February 7 of that year.
Meanwhile, Caf will announce countries that will host the 2019 and 2021 editions of the biannual football showpiece in September.
Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea, DR Congo and Zambia have signified intentions of hosting the 2019 edition as well as Cote d’Ivoire and Guinea Afcon 2021.
Stephen Keshi led the Super Eagles to their third continental title when they defeated the Stallions of Burkina Faso 1-0 in the final of the last edition played at Johannesburg’s FNB Stadium.

Related posts

Hon. Nwogu Commences Unity Cup


Rivers Cyclists Poised To Dump Rivers


Second NB Golf Tournament Patrick Does It Again As N. Chima Wins