• Home
  • News
  • AKULGA Legislative Assembly Suspends Four Councilors

AKULGA Legislative Assembly Suspends Four Councilors


For displaying an unruly behaviour, misconduct and indiscipline during and after its last legislative session, the Akuku-Toru Local Government Legislative Assembly has announced the suspension of four of its councilors.

The four councilors suspended are Tamunosaki Opuoyibo of ward 10, Ibianga Asawo of ward 3, Ibitoroko Briggs of Ward 4 and Inepeleba Graham of ward 16.

The suspension order came on course when Mr. Diyepiriye Robert,  representing ward 8, drew the attention of the members of the Legislative Assembly to the unruly behaviour exhibited by the four members during and after their last sittings.

Mr. Robert, who cited the Assembly’s statutory order of section 43, subsection 3 and the Rivers State Local Government law No. 2 of 2012 section 15, sub-section 4 and 5, called for the suspension of the 4 councilors.

Earlier, during the proceeding of the Assembly Mr. Telema Young Jack, representing AKULGA ward 13 had requested for an adequate disciplinary measure for the misconduct of the four (4) members a way of preventing a future reoccurrence by any of the legislators.

In line with the submissions made by the two members of the assembly, the Leader of the Akuku-Toru Legislative Assembly, Mr. Akuma Dokubo, then called for a voice vote by the members, who overwhelming voted in support of the indefinite suspension of the four (4) members.

The Leader commended the members for their concern and advised that they should continue to perform their legislative functions, as responsible representatives of the people that elected them into office with fear or favour. ###

Related posts

Nwuke, 2 others Berate Amaechi’s Critics … Inaugurate Omuma/Etche RIVLEAF Chapter




Work With Amaechi To Develop Rivers State …Barr. Ebeku Urges Opposition Parties Members